Scottish Indie Bands Collaborate for Mental Health Album

On June 28, Chemikal Underground will release the album First Edition by the Fruit Tree Foundation, a supergroup of leading lights from the Scottish indie scene. Frightened Rabbit frontman Scott Hutchison, the Twilight Sad leader James Graham, the Delgados’ Emma Pollock, Idlewild’s Rod Jones, Alasdair Roberts, James Yorkston, Sparrow and the Workshop’s Jill O’Sullivan, Karine Polwart, and Jenny Reeve all wrote the album together in a house in the Scottish countryside over the course of a few days. Above, download “I Forgot the Fall”, from Scott Hutchison and Rod Jones.

The session was part of last year’s Scottish Mental Health Arts and Film Festival, and the musicians were tasked with exploring themes of mental health in their writing.

The album had previously only been available at two special shows that the group played in Edinburgh and Glasgow last October. Chemikal Underground is now partnering up with three different organizations to release it: The Mental Health Foundation, A Scottish Wave of Change, and Breathing Space. (via pitchfork)