Goldfrapp Reveals Details of New SINGLES Compilation and the Gorgeous New “Yellow Halo” Video.

“Yellow Halo” is the new Goldfrapp single which will be joined another new song,  “Melancholy Sky” on the genius pop duo’s new SINGLES comp coming out on February 6h, 2012 (Mute/Parlophone.)  From the Goldfrapp web site:

On 6th February 2012 electro-pop icons Goldfrapp release The Singles, a career-spanning
overview featuring tracks from their five critically acclaimed albums, alongside two brand
new songs written especially for this release: ‘Yellow Halo’ – a slow building synth-pop
wonder, and the introspective and defiant new wave ballad ‘Melancholy Sky’.

The Singles, is the first compilation from the band, taking in the cinematic electronica of
their Mercury shortlisted debut album Felt Mountain, through the electro glam of Black Cherry,
the Grammy nominated, half-million selling dance pop of Supernature, the Pagan, electro-folk
of Seventh Tree and last year’s, top 10 album, the hands-in-the-air, retro-futuristic Head

The video for “Yellow Halo” is a “tour doc” style video (check out Glass Candy’s very similar video HERE) taken during a stop to São Paulo for the Planeta Terra Festival.  I like a behind the scenes look at bands on tour – here you’ll see her shopping, relaxing and did you know she has a tattoo on her finger?  Cute!  I was happy to hear “Yellow Halo” as I was a fan of the hippy dippy, SEVENTH TREE.  It’s mellow tune with a great build.  I’m also a twitter novice, but was excited to find the Goldfrapp twitter feed.  Alison Goldfrapp looks to be the one of the duo attending to the feed, and it has many insights for fans.  As bummed as we are that there probably won’t be much new in the way of Goldfrapp material in 2012, we’ll take the reduxes and the new songs from SINGLES, gladly.  Tracklisting after the jump.

1. Ooh La La
2. Number 1
3.  Strict Machine (Single Mix)
4.  Lovely Head
5.  Utopia (Genetically Enriched)
6.  A&E
7.  Happiness (Single Version)
8.  Train
9.  Ride A White Horse (Single Version)
10. Rocket
11. Believer
12. Black Cherry
13. Yellow Halo
14. Melancholy Sky