Spiritualized’s Lazer Guided Melodies and Pure Phase Get Deluxe Vinyl Reissues

Via Exclaim.ca:

It’s a great time for Jason Pierce fans. A few weeks back there was the announcement of Spacemen 3 re-releasing a handful of singles, and now it looks as if his follow-up project Spiritualized will similarly be getting the deluxe reissue treatment.

As FACT reports, Spiritualized’s first two albums are set to be repressed by U.S. imprint Plain Records on deluxe 180-gram double vinyl.

First up is 1992’s Lazer Guided Melodies, which introduced the trippy space rock combo to the world. Forgoing a CD release makes sense, as the album was intended to be listened to as a double LP. The sprawling set sections off its tunes into four cross-faded suites, with highlights including their signature gospel head trip “Shine a Light” and the J.J. Cale-lyric-lifting “Run.”

Then there is a reissue of the band’s sophomore set, 1995’s Pure Phase, which trimmed the group’s lineup down from a quintet to a trio. But Spiritualized’s astral rock songs, including “Born Never Asked” and “Electric Mainline,” still soared with the same intensity, no doubt thanks to orchestral contributions from the by the Balanescu Quartet.

You can check out the tracklisting for both albums reissues below. And while neither record has a firm release date, both sets are reportedly due out this month.

Lazer Guided Melodies:

A. “You Know It’s True” / “If I Were with Her Now” / “I Want You”
B. “Run” / “Smiles” / “Step into the Breeze” / “Symphony Space”
C. “Take Your Time” / “Shine a Light”
D. “Angel Sigh” / “Sway” / “200 Bars”

Pure Phase:

A1. “Medication”
A2. “The Slide Song”
A3. “Electric Phase”
A4. “All Of My Tears”
A5. “These Blues”
B1. “Let It Flow”
B2. “Take Good Care Of It”
B3. “Born Never Asked”
B4. “Electric Mainline”
C1. “Lay Back In The Sun”
C2. “Pure Phase”
C3. “Spread Your Wings”
C4. “Feel Like Goin’ Home”
D1. “Good Times”
D2. “Pure Phase”