True Panther Releases San Francisco Comp to Benefit Homeless

Via True Panther:
A couple of weeks ago the San Francisco Giants defied all odds and expectations and brought THE WORLD SERIES to SF for the first time ever…

So we thought we’d join in the celebration and take this opportunity to put a spotlight on the great music scene that is currently marinating there. A late-night idea, some frantic emails and a couple of weeks later we have this great mix of San Francisco musicians (some of whom recorded songs specifically for this compilation) to share with you.

Our jubilation was tempered the day after the World Series victory, when San Francisco passed Proposition L, also known as the Sit/Lie Ordinance. Prop L makes it a crime to sit or lie down on any sidewalk or on top of any object (blanket, lawn chair, milk crate, etc.) from 7am-11pm, punishable by a $100 fine for first offense and up to 30 days in jail for a second. This is a law that in our opinion criminalizes the poor without coming up with solutions but also makes a potential offender out of anyone wanting to relax in a lawnchair in front of their house. While we initially planned on making this compilation available for free, we ultimately decided to charge $1 and donate 100% of the proceeds to the SF Coalition on Homelessness in recognition of their new challenge. We want this contribution to help COHSF continue their outreach, peer support, leadership development, public education, advocacy, and community organizing especially in the wake of an inevitable rise in persecution of the city’s poor.

Thank you to the Bay Area musicians that submitted tracks for this compilation, thank you to the San Francisco Giants for bringing the World Series home, and thank you for listening! GO GIANTS!!!!

More info on Prop L HERE

1. SF Giants- Bye Bye Baby (Airhorn Deluxe Edition)
2. Dominant Legs- Finally Champions *
3. The Fresh & Onlys- Waterfall (from the album Play It Strange on In The Red)
4. Ty Segall- Who Are You *
5. Ezee Tiger & The Soundguys- Book It *
6. Young L- Pound
7. Terry Malts- In The Waiting Room *
8. Melted Toys- Preforms *
9. Wet Illustrated (from the Born Stoked 7? on Corvette City)
10. NODZZZ- Genocide Bow *
11. Sonny & The Sunsets- Do I Remember Me *
12. Water Borders- Runaway 2010 *
13. Bronze- Parallels (Cosmic Mindslayer Version) *
14. The Sandwitches- San Francisco *
15. Magic Bullets- Everything Flows (Teenage Fanclub cover) *
16. OoOOo- seaww
17. Young Prisms- Sugar (from the album Friends For Now on Kanine)
18. Blackbird Blackbird- Fly (Feat. Steffaloo)
19. Weekend- All-American
20. Girls- Life In San Francisco (from the Lust For Life 7?)
21. Vinnie Rat- Giants Defiance *