Peter Gabriel to Release Indie-centric Covers Album

Several talented old geezers elder statesmen of rock are entering into the indie scene these days. The latest news is that Peter Gabriel will be releasing an album of covers entitled ‘Scratch My Back’ on February 15th 2010.

Gabriel describes this as “a very personal record” with the twelve songs performed only with orchestral instruments and voice. To help craft the recording he enlisted John Metcalfe as composer/arranger, the expertise of producer Bob Ezrin (Pink Floyd’s ‘The Wall’, Lou Reed’s ‘Berlin’) and the engineer, mixer and producer Tchad Blake (Suzanne Vega, Sheryl Crow, Tom Waits).

It’s chock full of indie goodness! A full track listing after the jump.

Heroes (David Bowie)
The Boy in the Bubble (Paul Simon)
Mirrorball (Elbow)
Flume (Bon Iver)
Listening Wind (Talking Heads)
The Power of the Heart (Lou Reed)
My Body is a Cage (Arcade Fire)
The Book of Love (The Magnetic Fields)
I Think it’s Going to Rain Today (Randy Newman)
Après Moi (Regina Spektor)
Philadelphia (Neil Young)
Street Spirit (Fade Out) (Radiohead)